Mission
Our mission is to collect, preserve and interpret the natural and cultural history of Champaign County and East Central Illinois.

Our vision:  Through diverse experiences, we seek to inspire our audiences with a sense of connection to, and stewardship of, their natural and cultural world.


Staff of the Museum and Education Department

Barbara Oehlschlaeger-Garvey, Museum and Education Department Director
bgarvey@ccfpd.org

Pam Leiter, Assistant Director
pleiter@ccfpd.org

At the Museum of the Grand Prairie:

Valerie Hall, Curator
vhall@ccfpd.org

Kaitlyn Riopelle, Public Program/Visitor Services Coordinator
kriopelle@ccfpd.org

Susan Voskuil, Education Program Specialist
svoskuil@ccfpd.org

Sandy Osborne, Education Program Specialist
sosborne@ccfpd.org

Tom Meachum, Registrar
tmeachum@ccfpd.org
   
Melinda Wiegel, Customer Service/Retail Associate
mwiegel@ccfpd.org

Gretchen Winkler, Customer Service/Retail Associate
gwinkler@ccfpd.org

At Homer Lake Interpretive Center:

Stacey Clementz, Environmental Education Program Specialist
sclementz@ccfpd.org

Chelsey Walsh, Environmental Education Program Specialist
cwalsh@ccfpd.org

Emily Henson, Interpretive Naturalist
ehenson@ccfpd.org

top

 

Museum Store

The Museum Store carries a wide range of items including educational toys and puzzles, vintage-style games for the whole family, decor and tools for the home and garden, books, and so much more!

The Museum Store is open during the museum's public hours or by appointment. If you would like to know whether the shop carries a particular item don't hesitate to call 217-586-2612.

Local Artist Gallery
The museum hosts a Local Artist Gallery, highlighting our community's established and up-and-coming artists, and showcasing the incredible talent that Champaign County has to offer! We are currently showing the art of Rosalind Weinberg (printmaking and painting), Mindy Gardner of Flood Plain Forge (metalwork and blacksmithing), and Marilee Hoffswell, (fiber art). Their work will be on display from September 1st to December 31st, 2014.

Visit our Facebook to see the newest pieces in our Museum Store and Local Artist Gallery!

Apply here: Artists may apply to have their works sold on consignment in the shop. Send the completed application form to Kaitlyn Riopelle, Museum of the Grand Prairie, P.O. Box 1040, Mahomet IL 61853. Artists may send photographs of their work to supplement their application either with the form, or by email, kriopelle@ccfpd.org.

 

FAQs

Photographs-Tours-Appraisals-Caring for your Heirlooms-Memberships-Donations

Photographs
What are the photograph policies in your museum? What are the publication policies?
Photographs for personal use may be taken of the museum's permanent collection. Any photograph taken for publication must be approved by museum staff. Contact the Director at 586-2612; email bgarvey@ccfpd.org

Tours
How do I schedule a tour? A group visit?
Group and bus tours may be scheduled through Katie Riopelle, our program coordinator. Call 586-2612 or email at kriopelle@ccfpd.org School tours may be scheduled through our educator, Sandy Osborne at 586-2612 or email at sosborne@ccfpd.org

Appraisals
Do you appraise or authenticate antiques?
No, it would be a conflict of interests for us to appraise objects in your possession.

Caring for your Heirlooms
How do I care for my family heirloom?
We would be happy to advise you on the care of your family heirlooms. Please feel free to call our Director for advice at 586-2612 or email bgarvey@ccfpd.org

Memberships/Friends Donations
Do you have a membership?
The museum no longer has a membership program but we do have a Friends program. If you'd like to become a Friend of the Museum, contact our director Barb Oehlschlaeger-Garvey for more information at 586-2612 or bgarvey@ccfpd.org

Donations to the Collection
What kinds of things do you accept into your collection? 
Our collecting period dates to 50 years before present. We accept all sorts of objects, particularly those which illustrate the cultural and natural  history of East Central Illinois and Champaign County. We accept items temporarily, until they are reviewed by our Museum's Advisory Committee. If accepted by the committee, items will become part of our permanent collection. For more information contact Director Barb Oehlschlaeger-Garvey, bgarvey@ccfpd.org.

top