Mission
Our mission is to collect, preserve and interpret the natural and cultural history of Champaign County and East Central Illinois.

Our vision:  Through diverse experiences, we seek to inspire our audiences with a sense of connection to, and stewardship of, their natural and cultural world.


Staff of the Museum and Education Department

Barbara Oehlschlaeger-Garvey, Museum and Education Department Director
bgarvey@ccfpd.org

Pam Leiter, Assistant Director
pleiter@ccfpd.org

At the Museum of the Grand Prairie:

Mark Hanson, Curator
mhanson@ccfpd.org

Jennifer Grove, Registrar
jgrove@ccfpd.org

Patrick Cain, Public Program/Visitor Services Coordinator
pcain@ccfpd.org

Katie Snyder, Education Program Specialist
ksnyder@ccfpd.org

Sandy Osborne, Education Program Specialist
sosborne@ccfpd.org

Marina Montez-Ellis, Garden Program Specialist
mmontez@ccfpd.org

Gretchen Winkler, Customer Service/Retail Associate
gwinkler@ccfpd.org

Mel Wiegel, Customer Service/Retail Associate
mwiegel@ccfpd.org

Shelly Green, Customer Service/Retail Associate
sgreen@ccfpd.org

 


At Homer Lake Interpretive Center:

Stacey Clementz, Environmental Education Program Specialist
sclementz@ccfpd.org

Jennifer Wick, Environmental Education Program Specialist
jwick@ccfpd.org

Cathy Schneider, Intepretive Naturalist
cschneider@ccfpd.org

top

 

Museum Store

The Museum Store carries a wide range of items including educational toys and puzzles, vintage-style games for the whole family, decor and tools for the home and garden, books, and so much more!

The Museum Store is open during the museum's public hours or by appointment. If you would like to know whether the shop carries a particular item don't hesitate to call 217-586-2612.

FAQs

Photographs-Tours-Appraisals-Caring for your Heirlooms-Memberships-Donations

Photographs
What are the photograph policies in your museum? What are the publication policies?
Photographs for personal use may be taken of the museum's permanent collection. Any photograph taken for publication must be approved by museum staff. Contact the Director at 586-2612; email Mark Hanson.

Tours
How do I schedule a tour? A group visit?
Group and bus tours may be scheduled through Pat Cain, our program coordinator. Call 586-2612 or email Pat Cain. School tours may be scheduled through our educator, email Katie Snyder or call 586-2612.

Appraisals
Do you appraise or authenticate antiques?
No, it would be a conflict of interests for us to appraise objects in your possession.

Caring for your Heirlooms
How do I care for my family heirloom?
We would be happy to advise you on the care of your family heirlooms. Please feel free to call our Director for advice at 586-2612 or email Barb Garvey, bgarvey@ccfpd.org

Memberships/Friends Donations
Do you have a membership?
The museum no longer has a membership program but we do have a Friends program. If you'd like to become a Friend of the Museum, contact our director Barb Oehlschlaeger-Garvey for more information at 586-2612 or Barb Garvey, bgarvey@ccfpd.org

Donations to the Collection
What kinds of things do you accept into your collection? 
Our collecting period dates to 50 years before present. We accept all sorts of objects, particularly those which illustrate the cultural and natural  history of East Central Illinois and Champaign County. We accept items temporarily, until they are reviewed by our Museum's Advisory Committee. If accepted by the committee, items will become part of our permanent collection. For more information contact Curator Mark Hanson by email, or call 217-586-2612

top